Summer 2012 playlist

I used to list down my “songs of the moment” in my old blogs, whether they be songs I could relate to at that time, songs that are currently on the loop in my iPod or in the car, or those that bring back old memories and feelings.

So here’s a countdown to my top 10 songs for this year’s summer.  They’re not even the hottest hits this summer. It’s a mix of old and new songs (well, most songs from distant past). This time I’ll be a li’l DJ, instead of your usual travel photographer blogger. :P

1. Stars by Switchfoot. I know this is an old song but I learned this from my bandmates when they played it recently. I’ve loved it. Come to think of it, when life starts to get painful, just take a look outside and gaze at the perfection of the stars and galaxies, and the chaos “could pass as sane” in light of the infinite.

2. Don’t Speak by No Doubt. Oh, the MTV days. Gwen’s skimpy tank (or bra) top. The Gwen and Tony split-up. Brings back old memories and emotions. It still moves me up to now everytime I hear and sing this song, I could almost cry.

3. Come Back Down by Lifehouse. This has been one of my favorite Lifehouse songs. Another heartfelt song. “When you come back down / If you land on your feet / I hope you find a way to make it back to me…”

4. What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger) by Kelly Clarkson. THIS. IS. MY. ANTHEM. It’s such a powerful song. I know it could come across as a break-up song but for me, it’s not. It’s a representation of what I believe in, of what I am as an independent girl. “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger /Just me, myself, and I / What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger / Stand a little taller / Doesn’t mean I’m lonely when I’m alone.”

5. I Kissed a Girl by Katy Perry. When I first heard this song back in 2008, I never it would become such a big hit. This practically catapulted Katy to the top of the charts. Not like I could relate this song but I just love its throbbing beat.

6. Gravity by John Mayer. *Deep sigh* I could listen to this song over and over and over. Just a little research from Wiki, in a concert performed in December 2005, Mayer explained the significance and meaning of the song: “This is the most important song I’ve ever written, it’s a time capsule song. I will listen to it every day of my life if I need to. It’s honest to God the most important song I’ve ever written in my life, and it has the fewest words… This is a song about… making sure you still love yourself… making sure you still have your head on, making sure you still say no the way your mom would say no. And I will need it every damn day of my life because it’s easier to mess up than it is to stay here.”

7. Name by Goo Goo Dolls. Wow, what a classic. Another song from the 90s.  Something that I could listen to as I close my eyes and wander off…

8. Linger by The Cranberries. 1993! I was only in 3rd grade when this song was released. I am sure this song had a lot of impact then, even until now whenever you hear it. You know I’m such a fool for this song.

9. Buses and Trains by The Bachelor Girl. I looove singing this song (even if it’s a bit hard to sing this), whether as the lead vocals or back-up, with a band or just a piano.

10. Rolling in the Deep by Adele. Dang, all I could say is that this one’s INTENSE. I wish I could sing this as intensely and as full of emotions as Adele does.

Leave a Reply

