#TheBigTrip2012: Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

I left the Philippines convinced that when I get to New Zealand, I was really going to do bungy jumping. It was one of the non-negotiable things I MUST DO. But it was different when I was already in NZ. Having been able to watch the bungy jumpers in AJ Hackett in Queenstown during Christmas (the 43-meter jump off from the Kawarau Bridge), I was getting really chickened out. I wanted to back out. Luckily, there was a long queue to this activity in AJ Hackett, so my sister didn’t book us yet there that time.

Since there are a lot of places to do the bungy in NZ, not just in Queenstown, there was another chance to do it either in Taihape or in Lake Taupo, my sister said. Fast forward to December 31, 2012, we went off to another roadtrip this time in North Island for our New Year’s week vacation. First agenda of the day is to finally do the bungy in Mokai Gravity Canyon in Taihape. This is New Zealand’s highest bridge bungy–at 80 meters! Oh!!! Talk about having cold feet. I could no longer talk on the way here. (@#*!)

From the main highway, it still took us around 30 minutes to get to the canyon itself. With these signages leading you to the site, how can you not get nervous?! (@#*!)

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon! Viewing deck in the Gravity Canyon.

When we arrived, the crew were very friendly and happy to assist us. I was about to turn back already but they were supportive and convincing to help me finally get through it.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Some of the crew assisting us in our adrenaline hit.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Some of our ‘fans’ who came all the way here just to watch us jump (Jane and family :)). So there’s really no turning back now!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Strapping us with our safety harnesses.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

“If you can’t jump, push yourself.” That’s so true, not just in bungy jumping, but also in Life. :)

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

At this point, we were third in line before it’s our turn to jump. Hard part #1: WAITING. Waiting as the cold wind slammed in our face. It just prolonged the agony.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Hard part #2: LOOKING OVER THE EDGE. (I just took a peek as I was at the back of my sister).

Hard part #3: Of course, TAKING THE LEAP! As the jump master / operator told us to jump after “1-2-3 bungy!”, my sister first hesistated. We jumped at the 2nd attempt!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Hard part #4: THE FIRST FEW SECONDS AFTER WE’VE GONE! My world literally stopped. Everything became silent. My heart, stomach, and intestines felt like they were left up in the air. I couldn’t get myself to scream.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

At our first bounce back, I felt a little better. That’s the time I started to scream and got teary-eyed!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

After the jump, we didn’t have to walk up to get out of that canyon. The crew loaded us to the chairlift to bring us back to the bridge and experience the full 80 meters all over again in reverse.

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

DSC_0291-35

Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

What a big feat! Another check in my bucket list! It was a great way to wrap up the last day of 2012!

(Thanks to my sister for treating me to this one big adventure as a Christmas gift!)

Here’s the vid:

One thought on “#TheBigTrip2012: Bungy jumping in Mokai Gravity Canyon!

  1. Pingback: 30 Places before 30 | The Traveling Havaianas

Leave a Reply

