My Word of the Year

Since 2011, I started the practice of beginning my year with a word or declaration on how I envision the year that was in front of me. Those words were like my banner or my theme which served as my inspiration, my guiding principle in achieving my goals, setting my priorities, and pursuing my passions.

I forgot about making a long list of resolutions. Sure, I did my dreamboard for the year. I prayed and set my faith goals. But I always came up with my word of the year which summed up everything I hope the year would be.

In 2011, it was Uncontainable.

For 2012, it was Legendary.

2013, Breakthrough.

In the next 12 months, my word is NEXT LEVEL (I think two words still count ;)). In my friendships, relationships, career, skills, ministry, devotion with God, tithing and finances, basically in ALL areas–I want to take it to the next level. This is the word that resounds to me and embodies my 2014. 

I encourage you to pick your word of the year as well.

Why would you need a word to hold on to?

  • It serves as your guidepost.
  • It challenges you.
  • Your chosen word will really happen. You WILL make it happen. (I can attest to it; it’s been happening to me each year).

I’d just like to point that though this positive word would be your fuel for the rest of the year, acknowledge that you may not have or achieve this ALL the time. Expect that there would highs and lows, peaks and valleys throughout that year but remember to go back to that word, hold on to it, and continue to let it inspire you.

So… what is the word that would mean everything to you this year? :)

NEXTLEVEL

“For I am about to do something new.
See, I have already begun! Do you not see it?
I will make a pathway through the wilderness.
I will create rivers in the dry wasteland.” –Isaiah 43:19

Leave a Reply

