A ‘Wicked’ throwback

Musical fans are raving by now that Manila is turning “Wicked.” The Australian production of the Broadway hit “Wicked: The Untold Story of the Witches of Oz” has started its  run last January 22 in CCP Main Theater, so you won’t have to fly to Singapore, Australia, or United States just to catch it.

Most people I know who already watched have a lot of great things to say about the musical (at least based on their social media). For those who haven’t bought tickets or are probably thinking about buying, I highly ENCOURAGE you to go spare some money for it and come see it since it’s right here! :) With its clever and witty script, entertaining effects, moving and memorable music, engaging characters, and a wonderful story of friendship, love, and power, every minute of it is DEFINITELY worth it.

I have my own memorable account of watching this show but I’m throwing back to about six months ago when I watched it right in a Broadway theater in midtown-Manhattan of New York. Here are some of the reasons why it has been my most unforgettable musical experience yet:

I got my first glimpse of the city. “Wicked” was my first activity in my first night in New York. Gershwin Theater is located in West 51st street. So before going there, my date and I passed the “Crossroads of the World” New York Times Square before it got dark. It was my first time to walk in the concrete jungles of the city.

New York Times Square

I got soaked in the rain. As we were walking past Times Square, it started to drizzle. And from drizzling, it became pouring rain! My date only had one umbrella so we were both squeezed in that little thing. It was like an obstacle race, trying to walk really fast to catch the show, while avoiding wet puddles and overtaking people in front of us. We got inside the theater just in time trying to catch our breaths, with my shoulders  and feet wet as well as his back.

I got front-row seats. My date didn’t realize that he got front row seats until he checked our tickets inside the theater. He thought he got like middle section, eye-level area. But our tickets indicated 4th row from the front. Anyhow, for me, it was the best seat in the house. I could easily see how the cast portray their characters, their facial expressions and deep emotions, I could even hear their sighs and whispers.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Emerald City

DSC_0008-2

I had no expectations. When I first learned that he was taking me to watch this, I didn’t even research what it was about. I had no idea how the story would turn out. I’m glad I didn’t even bother to look it up because I was in for a good surprise. Watching the performance made it more exciting that I was almost always at the edge of my seat. Then sometimes I would just lean back and take pleasure from what’s unfolding. 

I was just in awe. For 2 hours and 30 minutes, I was like a child, wide-eyed, jaw-dropped, just totally captivated by it. It made me laugh, it made me think, it made me cry. I didn’t matter anymore if my date thought I looked silly. My favorite scenes were Popular (Elphaba and Glinda) (“Toss, toss! Aaaaahhh!“), As Long as You’re Mine (Elphaba and Fiyero),  and For Good (Elphaba and Glinda).

I was really moved. If there’s one song in my life now that everytime I hear it still makes me emotional, it would be “For Good.” “Who can say if I’ve been changed for the better? / But because I knew you / Because I knew you / I have been changed for good.” To get a glimpse, here’s a clip of Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth:

I was with my favorite date. ;) I’ll always be thankful that my favorite NYC tour guide took me here to see this and he made New York stay more than just memorable. Because of that… 

I have been changed for good.

Gershwin Theater, New York

Gershwin Theater, New York

Wicked Playbill

(To book Wicked in Manila tickets, visit https://www.ticketworld.com.ph)

(To book Wicked in Broadway, New York, visit http://www.ticketmaster.com)

2 thoughts on “A ‘Wicked’ throwback

  1. Best ever! You’re lucky you got to see it at the Gershwin. I couldn’t get in on numerous times but finally got to see it in Seattle. Fell in love with it as expected and even used an instrumental “For Good” track on my wedding :)

    • That’s good! I guess you really have book months in advance to catch it in Gershwin. That’s what we did. How nice, “For Good” was part of your wedding. I’m trying to learn to sing it actually. :)

Leave a Reply

